How the Draw works


The Mercure City of Perth Masters is a triple knockout tournament. No team can be eliminated from the tournament until they have lost three games – this means that all teams are guaranteed at least three games.

All teams start in the A Road. Teams who keep winning remain in the A Road and progress directly to the Quarter Finals where there are two places for qualifiers from the A Road. A Road games are coded green  in the draw.

Teams who lose a game in the A Road are relegated to the B Road. If they win all of their subsequent games they progress to the Quarter Finals where there are two places for qualifiers from the B Road. B Road games are coded blue  in the draw.

Teams who lose a second game (ie a defeat in the A Road followed by another defeat in the B Road) are relegated to the C Road where the life and death of the tournament takes place. The teams who win progress to the Quarter Finals whereas the teams who lose exit the tournament at that point. There are four places in the Quarter Finals for qualifiers from the C Road. C Road games are coded red  in the draw.

From the Quarter Finals onwards the tournament is a straight knockout.

Knockout games are also coded gold in the draw.